Call Us Now: 041 214 5111

Grief Counselling & Support

Unresolved Grief

Addiction can be exacerbated by unresolved grief. We teach patients about the five stages and how to cope with them, so they can learn to understand and manage their feelings, avoiding relapse in the process.

The Five Stages of Grief

  • Denial,
  • Anger,
  • Bargaining,
  • Depression,
  • Acceptance.

How Does Therapy Help?

We hold a bereavement therapy group for those affected by grief. Bereavement can mirror the symptoms of post-traumatic stress disorder which we can treat in individual therapy sessions and using cognitive behavioural therapy.

Bereavement, Alcohol & Drugs

Acceptance and closure are the aims of grief therapy and it is important to go through a natural grieving process. Bereavement is also a trigger for relapse so we teach patients the importance of grieving without using drugs or alcohol.

Grief can occur following a death, divorce, separation, miscarriage, stroke, disability, moving home or redundancy. 

Last updated & clinically assessed 16 April, 2020